Yara Mekawei

Black and white image of artist Yara Mekawei sitting on the floor with her legs crossed and back to the wall. Next to her a large white picture
Yara Mekawei

Yara Mekawei is an Egyptian sound artist and scholar based in Berlin since 2021. Yara draws inspiration from the dynamic flow of urban centres and the key infrastructure of cities to create her sonic bricolages. Her research-based artistic practice raises questions about how to intimately connect ideologies of the mythic past with the developed technology of the eternal present. 

With the idea of sound being an essential tool of “vision” – an idea central in her recently published in the Arabic language first book, There Are Sounds of the Moving Images (production of Saudi-Arabia society for culture and arts) – Yara Mekawei explores ways to implement optical transactions from musical conversations, by transferring sound waves to visual forms. She approaches the composition process inspired and informed by ideas from the domains of philosophy, architecture, and social science to shape conceptual messages for the audience. Using such ideas, Yara builds her body of work in a way that generates a continuity, where each art piece is linked to and follows the next. Moreover, her work is informed by her identity and investigate her position of being a woman in an East African society.

Since 2011, Yara Mekawei’s work has been shown and performed internationally in places such as SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, 2021), SHUBBAK Festival (London, 2021), Rote Fabrik (Zürich, 2019), MEMPHIS Gallery (Linz, 2019), Halle14 (Leipzig, 2019), Dakar Biennial (Dakar, 2018), Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival (Johannesburg, 2018), Cairotronica festival (2018), Lagos Biennial (Lagos, 2017), and Biennale méditerranéenne dʼart contemporain dʼOran (Oran, 2014), among others.   

In 2018, Yara founded Radio SUBMARINE, dedicated to broadcast the diversity of music from the African continent. 

https://www.yaramekawei.com/

https://radiosubmarine.wixsite.com/radiosubmarine

https://issuu.com/yaramekawei

Yara on Social Media:

Yara Mekawei

Schwarz-Weißes Bild der Künstlerin Yara Mekawei, die auf dem Boden mit gekreuzten Beinen und mit Rücken zur Wand sitzt. Neben Ihr ein großes, weißes Bild
Yara Mekawei

Yara Mekawei ist eine ägyptische Klangkünstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin, die seit 2021 in Berlin lebt. Yara lässt sich bei der Gestaltung ihrer Klangbricolagen vom dynamischen Fluss urbaner Zentren und der zentralen Infrastruktur von Städten inspirieren. Ihre forschungsbasierte künstlerische Praxis wirft die Frage auf, wie sich Ideologien der mythischen Vergangenheit mit der entwickelten Technologie der ewigen Gegenwart eng verbinden lassen. 

Ausgehend von der Idee, dass Klang ein wesentliches Werkzeug der „Vision“ ist – eine Idee, die in ihrem kürzlich in arabischer Sprache erschienenen ersten Buch There Are Sounds of the Moving Images (Produktion der saudi-arabischen Gesellschaft für Kultur und Kunst) eine zentrale Rolle spielt – erforscht Yara Mekawei Möglichkeiten, optische Transaktionen von musikalischen Konversationen umzusetzen, indem sie Klangwellen auf visuelle Formen überträgt. Bei der Komposition lässt sie sich von Ideen aus den Bereichen Philosophie, Architektur und Sozialwissenschaften inspirieren und informieren, um konzeptionelle Botschaften für das Publikum zu formulieren. Mit Hilfe solcher Ideen baut Yara ihr Werk so auf, dass eine Kontinuität entsteht, bei der jedes Kunstwerk mit dem nächsten verbunden ist und auf dieses folgt. Darüber hinaus ist ihre Arbeit von ihrer Identität geprägt und untersucht ihre Position als Frau in einer ostafrikanischen Gesellschaft.

Seit 2011 wurden Yara Mekaweis Arbeiten international gezeigt und aufgeführt, unter anderem bei SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, 2021), SHUBBAK Festival (London, 2021), Rote Fabrik (Zürich, 2019), MEMPHIS Gallery (Linz, 2019), Halle14 (Leipzig, 2019), Dakar Biennale (Dakar, 2018), Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival (Johannesburg, 2018), Cairotronica Festival (2018), Lagos Biennale (Lagos, 2017) und Biennale méditerranéenne dʼart contemporain dʼOran (Oran, 2014), unter anderem.   

Im Jahr 2018 gründete Yara das Radio SUBMARINE, das die Vielfalt der Musik des afrikanischen Kontinents ausstrahlt. 

https://www.yaramekawei.com/

https://radiosubmarine.wixsite.com/radiosubmarine

https://issuu.com/yaramekawei

Yara auf Social Media: