Artist Pilots 2022: to new shores

In 2021, through the Artist Pilots project, we built a bridge between artists, media and cultural workers with different cultural and artistic backgrounds and established professionals from Berlin’s creative sector. Seven selected mentees were brought together with seven mentors from the same artistic field. The mentee-mentor duos then met several times, online and in person, to work together towards pre-determined goals. These mentoring processes have been an important experience for both mentees and mentors and most of the duos remained connected after the project’s end. 
We were also able to build a small but loyal community of transnational artists, media and cultural practitioners through our regular and free of charge online information sessions. These thematic events, led by invited experts from different areas of the Berlin arts and culture sector, but also by a coach from Förderband e.V., served as information, orientation, and networking platforms for our audience.
Furthermore, the visits to local cultural venues provided an opportunity for the selected mentees and other participants to network with local cultural professionals and institutions.

Thus, in 2021, a community of transnational artists and cultural and media practitioners has been created. We hope that this community continues to grow and we are looking forward to the next months of Artist Pilots activities.

In 2022, we will continue with our monthly, free of charge, online information sessions and will organise two networking events in selected cultural venues around topics that relate to the challenges of working in Berlin’s arts and culture sector. Most importantly, we will continue developing the Artist Pilots mentoring processes: in 2022, four (4) new mentees will be selected and paired with mentors from the same artistic field to be able to benefit from one-to-one support. 

Artist Pilots Winter Break

We are having a winter break and will resume our activities, starting on January 3, 2022.

There is another year of Artist Pilots ahead of us and we are very excited to continue with the project. 

We thank all those who participated and showed interest in and supported the project. We wish everyone to stay healthy, enjoy the winter holidays time, and have a good start in the new year!

Artist Pilots Team 

Laura Schultis

Laura Schultis is an Argentinian artist who has been living in Berlin since 2019. She studied choreographic composition in Buenos Aires, Argentina at the Universidad Nacional de Arte and completed a three-year training in contemporary dance.

Laura Schultis. Portrait of the dancer with sports suit, sitting on a wall outside
Laura Schultis

In Argentina, she has performed in various shows on a national level and participated in many projects as a dancer and choreographer. In Berlin, Germany, she is researching new approaches to movement and stage, in parallel to her exploration of a new culture and the building of professional networks related to dance and other artistic fields. Laura Schultis current practice includes collaborations with other artists and the development of her own projects and artistic research.  

(more…)

Ahmed Aküzüm

Ahmed Aküzüm is a cultural worker and artist. He was born in Diyarbakır, Turkey, and now lives in Germany. Aküzüm holds a MA in Cultural Management from Istanbul Bilgi University.

Ahmed Küzum, man with long gray hair, folded arms and black clothes
Ahmed Aküzüm

He has worked as a coordinator on more than a hundred artistic and cultural projects in Turkey. Parallel to his own creative practice in video and photography, he works as a cameraman. Ahmed Aküzüm is also a part-time lecturer in the Department of Arts and Cultural Management at Istanbul Bilgi University.

(more…)

Gloria Madas

Gloria Madas: portrait of the woman, with long curly hair and white t-shirt in front of a beige wall
Gloria Madas. Photo by violetamal

Gloria Madas is a Chilean artist, born in the German city of Neuss, due to the dictatorship in Chile. As a child, after seeing her older sister dancing at the Spanish Centre in Neuss, she became passionate about dance. In Chile, in parallel to her high school and university studies, she immersed herself in Flamenco. This motivated her to move to Seville, in 2017, and follow her dream to experience and learn Flamenco from its essence.

(more…)

Artist Pilots 2022: to new shores

Mit dem Projekt Artist Pilots haben wir im Jahr 2021 eine Brücke zwischen Künstlern, Medien- und Kulturschaffenden mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen und künstlerischen Hintergrunden und etablierten Berliner Fachleuten aus der Kreativbranche geschlagen.. Sieben ausgewählte Mentees wurden mit sieben Mentoren aus dem gleichen künstlerischen Bereich zusammengebracht. Die Mentee-Mentor-Duos trafen sich dann mehrmals, online und persönlich, um gemeinsam auf vorher festgelegte Ziele hinzuarbeiten. Diese Mentoring-Prozesse waren sowohl für die Mentees als auch für die Mentoren eine wichtige Erfahrung, und die meisten der Duos blieben auch nach dem Ende des Projekts in Kontakt. 
Außerdem konnten wir durch unsere regelmäßigen und kostenlosen Online-Informationssitzungen eine kleine, aber treue Gemeinschaft von transnationalen Künstlern, Medien- und Kulturschaffenden aufbauen. Diese thematischen Veranstaltungen, die von eingeladenen Experten aus verschiedenen Bereichen des Berliner Kunst- und Kultursektors, aber auch von einem Coach des Förderband e.V. geleitet wurden, dienten als Informations-, Orientierungs- und Vernetzungsplattformen für unser Publikum.
Darüber hinaus boten die Besuche lokaler Kultureinrichtungen den ausgewählten Mentees und anderen Teilnehmer:innen die Möglichkeit, sich mit lokalen Kultureinrichtungen und Fachleuten zu vernetzen.

Auf diese Weise ist 2021 eine Gemeinschaft von transnationalen Künstlern, Kultur- und Medienschaffenden entstanden. Wir hoffen, dass diese Gemeinschaft weiter wächst und freuen uns auf die nächsten Monate der Artist Pilots Aktivitäten.

Im Jahr 2022 werden wir unsere monatlichen, kostenlosen digitale Sprechstunden fortsetzen und zwei Vernetzungsveranstaltungen in ausgewählten kulturellen Einrichtungen zu Themen organisieren, die sich auf die Herausforderungen der Arbeit im Berliner Kunst- und Kultursektor beziehen. Vor allem aber werden wir die Mentoring-Prozesse der Artist Pilots weiterentwickeln: 2022 werden vier (4) neue Mentees ausgewählt und mit Mentoren aus demselben künstlerischen Bereich zusammengebracht, damit sie von einer persönlichen Betreuung profitieren können. 

Artits Pilots Winterpause

Wir machen eine Winterpause und werden unsere Aktivitäten ab dem 3. Januar 2022 wieder aufnehmen.

Ein weiteres Jahr Artist Pilots liegt vor uns und wir freuen uns sehr darauf, das Projekt fortzusetzen. 

Wir bedanken uns bei allen, die teilgenommen und Interesse an dem Projekt gezeigt und es unterstützt haben. Wir wünschen allen, dass sie gesund bleiben, die Winterferien genießen und einen guten Start in das neue Jahr haben!

Artist Pilots Team

Laura Schultis

Laura Schultis ist eine argentinische Künstlerin, die seit 2019 in Berlin lebt. Sie studierte in Buenos Aires, Argentinien choreografische Komposition an der Universidad Nacional de Arte und absolvierte außerdem eine dreijährige Ausbildung im zeitgenössischen Tanz.

Laura Schultis. Porträt der Tänzerin mit Sport-Anzug, auf einer Mauer draußen sitzend
Laura Schultis

In Argentinien hat Laura Schultis in verschiedenen Shows auf nationaler Ebene und in vielen Projekten als Tänzerin und Choreografin mitgewirkt. In Berlin möchte sie andere Denkweisen über Bewegung und Szene und eine neue Kultur kennenlernen und professionelle Netzwerke in der Tanzszene und mit Künstler:innen in anderen Genres aufbauen.
Gegenwärtig bildet sie sich weiter und erforscht Bewegung und Szene mit verschiedenen Fachleuten. Laura Schultis entwickelt eigene Projekte und arbeitet mit anderen Künstlern zusammen.

(mehr …)

Ahmed Aküzüm

Ahmed Aküzüm ist ein Kulturarbeiter und Künstler, der in Diyarbakır, Türkei, geboren wurde und jetzt in Deutschland lebt. Aküzüm hat einen Magister in Kulturmanagement der Istanbul Bilgi University.

Ahmed Küzum, Mann mit langen, grauen Haaren, verschränkten Armen und schwarzer Kleidung
Ahmed Aküzüm

Er hat als Koordinator an mehr als hundert künstlerischen und kulturellen Projekten in der Türkei mitgewirkt. Parallel zu seiner eigenen kreativen Praxis im Bereich Video und Fotografie arbeitet er als Kameramann. Darüber hinaus ist Ahmed Aküzüm Teilzeitdozent in der Abteilung für Kunst- und Kulturmanagement der Istanbul Bilgi Universität.

(mehr …)

Gloria Madas

Gloria Madas: Porträt der Frau, mit langen, lockigen Haaren und weißem T-Shirt vor einem beigen Wand
Gloria Madas. Bild von violetamal

Gloria Madas ist eine chilenische Künstlerin, die als Folge der Diktatur in Chile in der deutschen Stadt Neuss geboren wurde. Nachdem sie als Kind ihre ältere Schwester im spanischen Zentrum in Neuss tanzen sah, entdeckte sie ihre Leidenschaft für den Tanz.  Zurückgekehrt nach Chile, vertiefte sie sich parallel zu ihrer Schul- und Universitätsausbildung in den Flamenco. Dies motivierte sie, 2017 nach Sevilla zu ziehen und ihrem Traum zu folgen, die Essenz des Flamenco von Grund auf zu erleben und zu erlernen.

(mehr …)