Yara Mekawei

Black and white image of artist Yara Mekawei sitting on the floor with her legs crossed and back to the wall. Next to her a large white picture
Yara Mekawei

Yara Mekawei is an Egyptian sound artist and scholar based in Berlin since 2021. Yara draws inspiration from the dynamic flow of urban centres and the key infrastructure of cities to create her sonic bricolages. Her research-based artistic practice raises questions about how to intimately connect ideologies of the mythic past with the developed technology of the eternal present. 

With the idea of sound being an essential tool of “vision” – an idea central in her recently published in the Arabic language first book, There Are Sounds of the Moving Images (production of Saudi-Arabia society for culture and arts) – Yara Mekawei explores ways to implement optical transactions from musical conversations, by transferring sound waves to visual forms. She approaches the composition process inspired and informed by ideas from the domains of philosophy, architecture, and social science to shape conceptual messages for the audience. Using such ideas, Yara builds her body of work in a way that generates a continuity, where each art piece is linked to and follows the next. Moreover, her work is informed by her identity and investigate her position of being a woman in an East African society.

(more…)

Helena Ospina Lizarralde

Portrait of the young artist Helena Ospina Lizarralde, sitting on a chair in a living room with paintings on the wall behind her, wearing a leather jacket and a grey t-shirt
Helena Ospina Lizarralde

Helena Ospina Lizarralde is a multi-disciplinary Colombian artist whose work ranges from ceramics, weaving, and video to performance and installation. It stands in the intersection of art and philosophy and explores the interrelationship between the natural world and human existence. 

Through her artistic practice, Helena is interested in generating questions that depart from personal inquiries and subsequently create a space to trigger the spectators’ own explorations. 
In her current ongoing research, she addresses the fundamental notion of time by reflecting upon possible relationships with it and the way human existence has been determined by a social understanding of the concept. 

(more…)

Gülşah Mursaloğlu

Gülşah Mursaloğlu, portrait of slightly smiling woman with black straight long hair, white skin, black dress with brick wall as background
Gülşah Mursaloğlu

Gülşah Mursaloğlu is a visual artist working with installation. Her body of work is research-based and is centred around notions of materiality, matter’s agency, and human and non-human temporalities. Through her installations of ephemeral nature, Gülşah is interested in creating dynamic and fluid systems. Her recent projects investigate the shift in potato temporalities in the past centuries, terrestrial sequences, and the ways in which humans voluntarily and involuntarily eat/devour/consume the earth.

(more…)

Cristina Negucioiu

Cristina Negucioiu: Portrait of the dancer and performer with lilac dress
Cristina Negucioiu

Cristina Negucioiu is a Romanian actor, performer, and dancer who is a PerShe graduated from the Caragiale National University of Theatre and Film in Bucharest in 2018. Cristina has participated in several state and independent theatre productions in Romania, before shifting her focus towards an interdisciplinary and conceptual movement-based artistic practice.
In her work, recurrent topics of ontology, identity, time and space, body politics, and the position of the individual within a universal context are explored through perspectives drawn from the fields of spirituality, science, science-fiction, mythology, club culture, and queer theory. 

(more…)

Artist Pilots 2022: Call for Mentees

Artist Pilots invites newly arrived in Berlin artists, as well as media and culture workers of all ages and from all disciplines to apply for a ten-month mentorship. The project is intended to support creative professionals who have left their countries of origin because they could not pursue their professional activities on account of current political situations in their home countries.

In 2022, each of the 4 (four) selected mentees will be matched to a Berlin-based professional from the same artistic field. The selected mentees will benefit from the expertise and the network of their mentors who will also assist them in their first orientation in Berlin’s arts and culture sector. 

Each mentoring process is different, and each mentee-mentor duo decides on a direction, based on the mentee’s goals. 
A first, get-acquainted meeting will be held for each duo, at the beginning of March, with the presence of the project’s coordinator.
Mentors and mentees will meet, online or in person, at least ten times over the ten-month period. Meeting times and durations are flexible, and each mentee-mentor duo decides independently on the meeting schedule. 

The project’s coordinator will follow up each of the mentoring processes and will be available for answering questions. Moreover, both mentees and mentors can benefit from the support of the whole Artist Pilots team. 

In December 2022, there will be a compulsory feedback meeting, for both mentors and mentees, where everyone would be able to share their experiences and critiques. 

The mentorship is free of charge. Artist Pilots do not provide funds for materials, production, and travel. However, we will assist mentees in their search for funding. 

If you are interested to become an Artist Pilots mentee, please apply until 09 March 2022 (midnight) by sending an email to contact(at)artist-pilots.com that includes a CV (max. 2pp.) and a portfolio and/or links to your creative practice.

Yara Mekawei

Schwarz-Weißes Bild der Künstlerin Yara Mekawei, die auf dem Boden mit gekreuzten Beinen und mit Rücken zur Wand sitzt. Neben Ihr ein großes, weißes Bild
Yara Mekawei

Yara Mekawei ist eine ägyptische Klangkünstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin, die seit 2021 in Berlin lebt. Yara lässt sich bei der Gestaltung ihrer Klangbricolagen vom dynamischen Fluss urbaner Zentren und der zentralen Infrastruktur von Städten inspirieren. Ihre forschungsbasierte künstlerische Praxis wirft die Frage auf, wie sich Ideologien der mythischen Vergangenheit mit der entwickelten Technologie der ewigen Gegenwart eng verbinden lassen. 

Ausgehend von der Idee, dass Klang ein wesentliches Werkzeug der „Vision“ ist – eine Idee, die in ihrem kürzlich in arabischer Sprache erschienenen ersten Buch There Are Sounds of the Moving Images (Produktion der saudi-arabischen Gesellschaft für Kultur und Kunst) eine zentrale Rolle spielt – erforscht Yara Mekawei Möglichkeiten, optische Transaktionen von musikalischen Konversationen umzusetzen, indem sie Klangwellen auf visuelle Formen überträgt. Bei der Komposition lässt sie sich von Ideen aus den Bereichen Philosophie, Architektur und Sozialwissenschaften inspirieren und informieren, um konzeptionelle Botschaften für das Publikum zu formulieren. Mit Hilfe solcher Ideen baut Yara ihr Werk so auf, dass eine Kontinuität entsteht, bei der jedes Kunstwerk mit dem nächsten verbunden ist und auf dieses folgt. Darüber hinaus ist ihre Arbeit von ihrer Identität geprägt und untersucht ihre Position als Frau in einer ostafrikanischen Gesellschaft.

(mehr …)

Helena Ospina Lizarralde

Porträt der jungen Künstlerin Helena Ospina Lizarralde, die auf einem Stuhl in einem Wohnzimmer mit Gemälden an der Wand hinter ihr sitzt und eine Lederjacke und ein graues T-Shirt trägt
Helena Ospina Lizarralde

Helena Ospina Lizarralde ist eine multidisziplinäre kolumbianische Künstlerin, deren Werk von Keramik, Weberei und Video bis hin zu Performance und Installation reicht. Ihre Arbeit steht an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Philosophie und erforscht die Wechselbeziehung zwischen der natürlichen Welt und der menschlichen Existenz.

In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis ist Helena daran interessiert, Fragen zu stellen, die von persönlichen Erkundungen ausgehen und anschließend einen Raum schaffen, der die Zuschauer zu eigenen Erkundungen anregt. In ihrer aktuellen Forschung befasst sie sich mit dem grundlegenden Begriff der Zeit, indem sie über mögliche Beziehungen zur Zeit und die Art und Weise nachdenkt, wie die menschliche Existenz durch ein soziales Verständnis des Begriffs bestimmt wurde.

(mehr …)

Gülşah Mursaloğlu

Gülşah Mursaloğlu, Porträt einer leicht lächelnden Frau mit schwarzen, glatten, langen Haaren, weiße Haut, schwarzes Kleid mit Backsteinwand als Hintergrund
Gülşah Mursaloğlu

Gülşah Mursaloğlu ist eine bildende Künstlerin, die mit Installationen arbeitet. Ihr Werk ist forschungsbasiert und dreht sich um Begriffe wie Materialität, die Wirkung von Materie sowie um menschliche und nicht-menschliche Zeitlichkeiten. Sie beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten  – Installationen ephemerer Natur – mit der Schaffung dynamischer und fließender Systeme. In ihren jüngsten Projekten untersucht sie die Verschiebung der Zeitlichkeit der Kartoffel in den letzten Jahrhunderten, die Abläufe auf der Erde und die Art und Weise, wie der Mensch die Erde freiwillig und unfreiwillig isst/verzehrt/konsumiert.

(mehr …)

Cristina Negucioiu

Cristina Negucioiu: Porträt der Tänzerin und Performerin mit lila Kleid
Cristina Negucioiu

Cristina Negucioiu ist eine rumänische Schauspielerin, Performerin und Tänzerin. Ihr Studium der Darstellenden Künste schloss sie 2018 an der Caragiale National University of Theatre and Film in Bukarest ab.  Cristina hat in mehreren staatlichen und unabhängigen Theaterproduktionen in Rumänien mitgewirkt, bevor sie ihren Schwerpunkt auf eine interdisziplinäre und konzeptuelle bewegungsbasierte künstlerische Praxis verlagerte.

In ihrer Arbeit erforscht sie immer wiederkehrende Themen wie Ontologie, Identität, Zeit und Raum und Körperpolitik sowie die Position des Individuums in einem universellen Kontext durch Perspektiven aus den Bereichen Spiritualität, Wissenschaft, Science-Fiction, Mythologie, Clubkultur und Queer-Theorie. 

(mehr …)

Artist Pilots 2022: Call for Mentees

Artist Pilots lädt neu in Berlin angekommene Künstler:innen sowie Medien- und Kulturschaffende jeden Alters und aus allen Disziplinen ein, sich für ein zehnmonatiges Mentoring zu bewerben. Das Projekt unterstützt Kreativschaffende, die ihre Herkunftsländer verlassen haben, weil sie aufgrund der aktuellen politischen Situation in ihren Heimatländern ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit nicht nachgehen konnten.

Im Jahr 2022 wird jeder der 4 (vier) ausgewählten Mentees mit einem in Berlin ansässigen Künstler:in aus demselben künstlerischen Bereich zusammengebracht. Die ausgewählten Mentees profitieren von der Expertise und dem Netzwerk ihrer Mentor:innen, die sie auch bei der ersten Orientierung im Berliner Kunst- und Kulturlandschaft unterstützen. 

Jeder Mentoring-Prozess ist anders, und jedes Mentee-Mentor-Duo entscheidet sich für eine Richtung, die auf den Zielen des Mentees basiert. 

Anfang März findet für jedes Duo ein erstes Kennenlerntreffen statt, an dem auch die Projektkoordinatorin teilnimmt.
Mentoren und Mentees werden sich während der zehn Monate mindestens zehn Mal online oder persönlich treffen. Die Zeiten und Dauer der Treffen sind flexibel, und jedes Mentee-Mentor-Duo entscheidet selbst über den Zeitplan der Treffen. 

Die Projektkoordinatorin wird jeden der Mentoring-Prozesse verfolgen und für Fragen zur Verfügung stehen. Darüber hinaus können sowohl die Mentees als auch die Mentoren von der Unterstützung durch das gesamte Artist Pilots Team profitieren. 

Im Dezember 2022 findet ein obligatorisches Feedback-Treffen für Mentoren und Mentees statt, bei dem alle ihre Erfahrungen und Kritiken austauschen können. 

Das Mentoring ist kostenlos. Die Artist Pilots stellen keine Mittel für Material, Produktion und Reisen zur Verfügung. Wir unterstützen die Mentees jedoch bei der Suche nach Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten. 

Wenn Sie Interesse haben, ein Artist Pilots-Mentee zu werden, bewerben Sie sich bis zum 09. März 2022 per E-Mail an contact(at)artist-pilots.com mit einem Lebenslauf (max. 2 Seiten) und einem Portfolio und/oder Links zu Ihrer kreativen Praxis.